Staff Publications


Links and Resources
Home> Staff >

The staff of the Central Asia-Caucasus Institute & Silk Road Studies Program Joint Center works primarily out of offices in Washington D.C. and Stockholm, Sweden. The U.S. office is located at the Paul H. Nitze School of Advanced International Studies, Johns Hopkins University, while the European office is located with the Institute for Security and Development Policy.

The Joint Center regularly invites distinguished guest researchers for longer or shorter periods of time. The exchange of knowledge that follows from providing researchers with the opportunity to conduct research at the Joint Center, further enriches the research with additional perspectives and insights. The Joint Center also benefits from having a set of associated researchers linked to itself. By continuing to tie experts and distinguished researchers to its various endeavors, the Center is further advancing its aspiration of serving as the focal point for American and European academic and policy discussion regarding contemporary security issues in the region.

The Joint Center is led by a Chairman and a Research Director, with overall responsibility for the Joint Center's activities. These are joined by Research Fellows with specific responsibilities for individual projects. The Joint Center's Advisory Council is chaired by Dr. Zbigniew K. Brzezinski.

Dr. S. Frederick Starr

is Chairman of the Central Asia-Caucasus Institute & Silk Road Studies Program Joint Center. He founded the Central Asia-Caucasus Institute, and is research professor at SAIS. Starr is a leading specialist on the society and politics of Central Asia, including Afghanistan, as well as Russian politics and foreign policy, U.S. policy in Eurasia, and the regional politics of energy. He holds degrees from Yale, Cambridge and Princeton. Starr chairs the Advisory council of the Institute for Security and Development Policy.

Personal Webpage

Dr. Svante E. Cornell

is Research Director of the Central Asia-Caucasus Institute & Silk Road Studies Program Joint Center and a co-director of the Institute for Security and Development Policy. He was a co-founder of the Silk Road Studies Program. His specialization is in security issues, regional politics, and state-building in the Caucasus, Turkey, and Central and Southwest Asia. He holds a Ph.D. degree from Uppsala University, an Honorary Doctoral degree from the Academy of Sciences of Azerbaijan, and a B.Sc. degree from Middle East Technical University, Ankara.

Personal Webpage


Current Staff in Alphabetical Order:

Svante E. Cornell
Research Director; Editor, Central Asia-Caucasus Analyst

Amb. Per Eklund
Senior Fellow

Johan Engvall, Ph.D.
Nonresident Research Fellow

Amb. Karl Harbo
Senior Fellow

Avinoam Idan
Senior Visiting Fellow

Gareth Jenkins
Nonresident Senior Fellow

Anna Jonsson

Senior Associate Fellow

Michael Jonsson
Nonresident Research Fellow

Kemal Kaya, Ph.D.
Nonresident Senior Fellow

Aftab Kazi, Ph.D.

Nonresident Senior Fellow

Halil M. Karaveli
Senior Research Fellow; Managing Editor, Turkey Analyst

Marlene Laruelle
Senior Associate Fellow

Lars-Erik Lundin
Senior Fellow

Erica Marat, Ph.D.

Associate Research Fellow

Niklas Nilsson
Research Fellow; Associate Editor, Central Asia-Caucasus Analyst

Nicklas Norling
Research Fellow

Marja Oksajärvi Snyder
CACI Forum Coordinator

Sebastien Peyrouse

Senior Associate Fellow

Johanna Popjanevski
Deputy Director

Amb. R. Grant Smith

Nonresident Senior Fellow

David Soumbadze
Rumsfeld Fellowship Coordinator

S. Frederick Starr


Mamuka Tsereteli
Senior Research Fellow

Niklas L.P. Swanström
Director, ISDP